August SCOPE & Sequence Newsletter Published

The August 2014 SCOPE & Sequence newsletter has been published. Please click below to read an important letter from our union president, Dominic Marsano, regarding the upcoming contract negotiation process in 2015. Additional topics include information on the electronic grievance system, an update of SCOPE Executive Board contact information, and more! Check out the link below:

August 2014 SCOPE & Sequence

SCOPE Election Results 2014

In May, ballots were counted for the 2014 SCOPE election. Here are the results:

SCOPE Vice President: Betsy Lavinder (88 votes)

SCOPE Treasurer: Marianne Huffman (89 votes)

Proposed Constitution & By-Laws Change: Yes (60 votes); No (36 votes)

OEA Delegates (7 slots available):

1. Tammy Koontz (63 votes)

2. Jack Rosenberry (63 votes)

3. Cindy Price (61 votes)

4. Todd Dygert (60 votes)

5. Bruce Moore (58 votes)

6. Gretchen Hull (56 votes)

7. Janet Carter (53 votes)

Chuck Steinbower–Alternate (52 votes)

David Keck–Alternate (1 vote)

Al Glitch–Alternate (1 vote)

William Robb–Alternate (1 vote)

Blair Copeland–Alternate (1 vote)

Yolanda Battle–Alternate (1 vote)

NEA Delegates (3 slots available):

1. Dominic Marsano (54 votes)

2. Tammy Koontz (42 votes)

3. Bruce Moore (40 votes)

Gretchen Hull–Alternate (36 votes)

Jack Rosenberry–Alternate (31 votes)

Cindy Price–Alternate (29 votes)

Todd Dygert–Alternate (24 votes)

Janet Carter–Alternate (20 votes)

David Keck–Alternate (1 vote)

Al Glitch–Alternate (1 vote)

Blair Copeland–Alternate (1 vote)

Executive Board:

OSSD (1 seat): Jen Bahary

OSSB (1 seat): Chris Ross

DYS (1 seat): Nola Derheimer

MISC (1 seat): Evan Struble

DRC (5 seats): Tammy Koontz, Jack Rosenberry, Bruce Moore, Todd Dygert, Diana Jackson


Congratulations to those elected or re-elected, and a hearty “thank you” to our SCOPE Elections Chair, Sally Kendall, and to all SCOPE members that voted!








Electronic Grievance Forms Now Online

As you may be aware, the process of filing a grievance within SCOPE has recently moved online in an electronic format, known as OH Grievance. Please bookmark the following link on your internet browser so that you will have easy access to the electronic grievance system.

For SCOPE members’ convenience, the OH Grievance link has been embedded on the SCOPE web site under “Links” on the right-hand side of the site.

To become acclimated to the online grievance process, SCOPE members are strongly encouraged to view the following learning tools:

OH Grievance Training Webinar Video

OH Grievance “Quick Tips” (Word Document)

OH Grievance PowerPoint (w/ trainer’s notes)

If you have any questions about the online grievance process, please contact your site representative.



SCOPE Site Rep Training: August 23, 2014

SCOPE’s site representative training will be held on Saturday, August 23, 2014 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the downtown OEA Office, in the Multi-media Room on the 2nd Floor. (225 East Broad Street, Columbus OH 43215)

All SCOPE/OEA membership materials and training guides will be provided at this training session so it is very important that all SCOPE site reps attend. If you cannot attend, please designate a substitute from your site to attend in your place and pick up the various materials provided.

To RSVP, or if you have any questions, please contact SCOPE Vice President Betsy Lavender at or SCOPE Secretary Diane Prettyman at by August 15th.